The Moment I Am Most Afraid Of

Image

There’s this moment in my head

This piece of time in my heart

That rings of fear, fear in its purest form

It is not of death, nor of violence or pain

It is not of ghosts or darkness or demons

It is a very real fear, one life must go on with

I fear that moment, my heart dreads it always

When I look into the eyes of a woman

The only woman who is queen of my heart

When I tell her that I love her

When I reminisce with her hand in hand

When we walk down the road

When I hug her or help her to stand

When I kiss her on the cheek and the forehead

When I read the Bible by her side

When I tuck her into bed

When I comfort her at night

When I cry a million tears

Which she may never notice

When I yell a million times

Or scream, all but one will know this

When I hold her face in my hands

And beg her to remember

Remember, remember, remember, remember

But she won’t remember, because she can’t

That’s the moment I fear, you see

When she won’t know my name

When she forgets what she’s done for me

When she can’t remember her memories

That’s the moment I fear, you must know

When she won’t know her own name

When she forgets what I’ve done for her

When she can’t remember I love her

Though I beg her eyes with mine, “Do you remember me?”

I’ll hide what hurts the most deep inside

And lay my memories on her forehead with a kiss

I’ll love her totally, and in the Almighty confide

Leave a comment